Composition and governance


Composition of the laboratory (2020)

Director – Boris Petric
Assistant Director – Marion Fontaine

44 researchers
13 CNRS researchers
8 EHESS lecturer-researchers
6 AMU lecturer-researchers
13 Avignon University lecturer-researchers
4 post-docs

84 PhD students
From 3 doctoral schools (EHESS, AU and AMU)

11 engineers and technicians

Bodies (2020)

The board has 8 elected members, 5 appointed members, as well as the members of the management team.

Scientific Advisory Board
Since 2019, the Centre Norbert Elias has had a 16-person Scientific Advisory Board, which contributes to the collective scientific dynamics around cross-cutting research issues and plays a role in the scientific future of the laboratory.

History of the laboratory

The Centre Norbert Elias was founded in 1984, under the acronym of CERCOM (CEntre de Recherches en COMmunication), when the EHESS established a base at the Vieille Charité. In 1992, the sociologist Jean-Claude Passeron created the SHADYC (Sociologie, Histoire, Anthropologie des DYnamiques Culturelles), which became the Centre Norbert Elias at the beginning of the mandate of the historian Jean Boutier in 2001.
As a scholarly figure, Norbert Elias embodies the philosophy within which our laboratory structures its thinking and the different themes and objects on which the researchers work.
Since 2014, the Centre Norbert Elias has been a joint research unit (UMR 8562), sponsored by the EHESS, the CNRS, Avignon University and Aix-Marseille University.



  • Jean-Claude Passeron (1987-1996)
  • Jean-Louis Fabiani (1997-2001)
  • Jean Boutier (2001-2011)
  • Suzanne de Cheveigné (2012-2015)
  • Boris Pétric (since 2015)